Abdullah SCAA

            For the final project, I was partnered with Abdullah Alqasha. When we created our questions for checkpoint two, I was inspired by the answers he gave to the questions and decided that the most interesting manner to show off Abdullah’s work through my lens would be in the form of an interview. I used video to show the viewer what his motivations were when creating his work. I felt that his driving forces for creating his work would be shown more successfully using the actual voice of the artist; this aided in understanding his reasoning behind each piece.

            In the research process for creating the video, I took advantage of YouTube, and watched various tutorials explaining different tools in the program. I am still a beginner at video making, having minor experience with iMovie in the past, so it took a lot of time to figure out the workings of Final Cut Pro. For my video the sources I used were findsounds.com for all of the sound effects, and videzzy.com for all of the free stock footage. I took all of Abdullah’s pictures directly off his blog, and I used YouTube.com for all the video tutorials. I’m glad that I did do the research and learn some of the FCP tools because they will be valuable for future projects.

            For the production process, I conducted the interview using my iPhone’s microphone, which I found to be good enough sound quality, and emailed the mp3 to myself. I then edited the mess-ups and “Um’s” out of the interview using garage band. Next, I found all the stock video and sound effects as well as artwork from Abdullah’s project 3. After learning the basics of FCP, I pieced together and edited the movie together to the best of my ability. I found the movement of the pictures to be very exciting and added another element to the video that wasn’t there before; I enjoyed learning how to zoom in/out and pan across the pictures was greatly more visually entertaining than looking at a stationary photo. The part that frustrated me with FCP was that at first it was not obvious how to save my work, and it crashed a couple of times forcing me to lose progress which extended my work time unnecessarily, next time I will make sure the work is saved regularly.

Image

Connected: An Autoblogography About Love, Death & Technology really inspired me in more ways than one. I enjoyed how it explained the dangers of population growth, the effect of technology on the planet, and the global economy, yet stayed optimistic for the future of earth and humanity – and connected it to her own personal narrative. It helped with my final project because of the way Tiffany Shlain presented scenes of her beloved father. I took note and tried to use the interview style and used the artist’s work with his actual voice behind the images in the video.

Image

Another film about a new media artist that I felt inspiring and related to my project is Waste Land starring the artist Vik Muniz. In this documentary Vik Muniz, an artist who uses materials not usually linked with creation of art, went to the site of the largest trash dump in the world located in Brazil. He worked with the pickers to use recyclable materials to make portraits of the people working there. I took away from the film the message that art is everywhere and we just need to uncover it, as well as the message that doing something kind for someone goes a long way, and having those people work with him for a couple weeks ended up changing their lives forever. I tried to emulate the explanations he gave when looking at the significance of a piece of art in my work. Also, my video links to the portraits that Muniz created in the film, because my video is a portrait of Abdullah. 

Leave a Reply

